Blog posts, comments, and memes, oh my!

I consider myself to be fairly good with technology…that is until I get on the Internet! If you ask me to navigate anything beyond Facebook, Pintrest, or CSC’s website I’m pretty clueless…haha. Right as I figure some concept out, there are ten more that I didn’t know existed. Blogging is completely new for me, and I have spent the past week taking it all in, hoping what I’m putting out to the world is right. (Thank goodness for delete and edit buttons!) Luckily, I have had some great blogs to visit for guidance. [Insert plug for Feedly].

Feedly is another new resource I learned about this week. It lets you subscribe to all sorts of blogs, and brings you the most recent and popular posts from the blogs you subscribe to. Check it out!

I feel like effective bloggers really break things down. Posts are kept relatively short, with pictures and videos to break up longer ones. Points are made clear, but the writer still comes across as clever. Speaking of clever, I feel like the hook is in the title. The more clever of a title, the more I want to know what the post is about. This is going to be hard for me, because “Response Paper for _______” is about as creative as I have ever gotten in naming my work.

Enjoy a picture of my cat Nutella, while I attempt to break up my rant!

Enjoy a picture of my cat, Nutella, while I attempt to break up my rant.

The subject matter of kid lit blogs seem to vary. Some talk about books they read, experiences they shared in, and great teachable moments. I think though, that variety is good. With that, I’ve also noticed reoccurring memes that some bloggers participate in. I feel like this is the perfect way to unify the blogs of the kid lit world.

I feel like with some practice, this could be a lot of fun! Blogging seems like a great way to keep up with other people and share your own ideas in a low key setting. As teachers, we need as many new ideas as possible, and this seems like a good way to get them.

Until next time, my friends!

6 thoughts on “Blog posts, comments, and memes, oh my!

  1. I agree with you about posting pictures to spread out the longer posts! I think pictures are very affective to blogging. I have never blogged before but I have the same mind set as you. I think eventually it will be fun!

    Like

    • I do! I’ve always had a hard time expressing my feelings in person due to being kind of shy. I like the anonymity of blogs that let you get your ideas out without feeling like you will be judged on the spot. It will be a matter of figuring out what to blog about…

      Like

Leave a Reply

