It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/12/15 #imwayr

imwayr

It’s Monday! Time to tell you what I am reading. I found what I think are some pretty great books to add to my core classroom collection.

Al Capone Shines My Shoes (Al Capone at Alcatraz, #2)

My new book: Al Capone Shines My Shoes

After reading this book’s predecessor, I was pretty excited to continue with the series. These books are based on the perspective of Moose, a boy who lives on Alcatraz with his family. His father works there as an electrician/prison guard. After Moose asks Capone for a favor and he obliges, it is Moose’s turn to return the favor. This book is filled with more twists, turns, and adventure than the last. I was actually surprised at how intense the ending got. Definitely a book for 4th/5th grader, or even middle school, but an intriguing book none the less! I’m going to work to find the next one in the series—I’m hooked!

My Newberry book: Hoot

I really enjoyed reading this book growing up, appreciate it just as much now. The story follows Roy, the boy who is a pro at being the new kid. His father works for the government so they move a lot. Their newest relocation sends them to Florida. While on the bus one day, Roy notices a strange boy running, without any shoes. The boy appears to be around Roy’s age, but Roy never sees him at school. Through an unlikely twist of events Roy and this mystery boy team up to save endangered owls on the construction site of a pancake house. Along the way Roy learns how to stop being the ‘new kid’ and stand up for what is right.

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/12/15 #imwayr

  1. Hoot looks really good! You said you read it growing up? What drew you to the book as a kid? Did that same element hold up as your read it as an adult?
    I’m glad that you are reading some old favorites with some classics!

    Like

    • It was a pretty random pick. I believe I just happened to pick it up at the library and really liked it! So much so that I didn’t have to go to far to find it to reread–just picked it up off my bookshelf!

      Like

Leave a Reply

