Challenge Check-In

For those who do not remember, the challenge I chose for myself is to build a core classroom library for my future classroom. I would like to teach upper elementary, so I have been reading books at the 3rd-5th grade  level.

So far, I have really enjoyed the challenge I have set for myself. I feel like I am on a great start to building my library. Because of the nature of this challenge, I am reading some stories over again. The change in perspective (from student to teacher) has really made me think differently about the books. The hardest thing for me has been getting outside my comfort zone and exposing myself to new books. I think I have done a pretty good job there, but there is always room for improvement! I have made it a point to read at least one new book each week, and have made it more than one a couple weeks.

Goodreads has been very helpful for me. It’s a great way to look back on the kinds books that I have read, and I will sometimes get ideas on where to go next. Here is a link to my Goodreads in case anyone is curious as to what books I have been reading. Goodreads

Up to this point, I have been relying mostly on my mind and past experiences to build my book collection. I am starting to run out of ideas, and need your guys’s help. What would you define as a book for a core classroom library? What books do you guys remember reading in school that every teacher should have? I would love suggestions!

4 thoughts on “Challenge Check-In

  1. I am doing the same thing! Building a library for my classroom is really important so I don’t end up starting my first year teaching with no books to let my kids read. I would definitely make sure that I have as many Newberry books and other award winners as I can get.

    Like

  2. I have a hard time coming up with things off the top of my head, but I would say Eric Carle’s books are classroom essentials! Sounds like you’re doing good on your challenge, good luck with the rest of the semester!

    Like

Leave a Reply

