It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/16/15 #imwayr

imwayr

Happy Monday! How can it not be when you’ve got a book in hand? 🙂

Last week I was a little overly ambitious, so bear with my awkward post.

Dear Mr. Henshaw

Beverly Cleary strikes again! I have to say, over this past semester I have developed a fondness for her writing. While her books may be dated, any kid can identify with the problems her characters face. This book is about a boy named Leigh who starts writing to his favorite author. Through doing so, Leigh finds an outlet for his stress and worry that are a product abandonment from his dad. I enjoyed reading this book. The only thing that would have made it ten times better is if Leigh got to meet Henshaw! I was totally hoping for that in the end. Nonetheless, a good book.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Silly me for thinking I could finish both of these books in a week! Anyway, I am about halfway through this book and really liking it. Besides my obsession for Harry Potter, scifi/fantasy really isn’t my thing. However, I am really liking this book! I like books that tie mythology into present day (Like Meg Cabot’s Avalon High). Percy Jackson is a kid that never really fit in at school. Come to find out, this is partly because he is a half-blood (his dad is a Greek God, and his mom is a mortal). Percy’s dad is in a bit of trouble and Percy sets out to help him….and that’s where I left off. I will let you guys know my final thoughts next week!

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/16/15 #imwayr

  1. The Percy Jackson series is a-MAZE-ing. I’m a big mythology buff, and Rick Riordan is pretty consistent (although G rated) with his Greek myths. If you like it, I recommend the rest of the Percy series, the Heroes of Olympus (Roman myths & Greek myths) series, and the Red Pyramid (Egyptian myth) series, all by Riordan. He also just released a Norse-based book. Certainly recommend it!

    Like

  2. One of my best friends loved the Percy Jackson series. I can’t even count how many times he has read them over and over again. I haven’t read the books but I have seen the first movie and loved it! Adventure books like these always seem to catch my attention I’ll have to borrow this book from my friend one of these days. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

