It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/23/15 #imwayr

imwayr

Happy Monday, everyone! This week I decided to keep my goals a little more realistic, and just finish the second half of the book I started last week.

Percy Jackson and the  Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Wow! I was very impressed with this book. Percy, son of Poseidon must recover Zeus’s lightning bolt to restore order among the gods, as well as save his mother. The only problem I had with this book was the middle…the journey across the country seemed to go on for a really long time. Other than that, a fantastic read!

Now a question for you guys…a girl at the school I work at noticed I was reading this book and got excited because she loves the books. It was great to make this connection, but I wonder how appropriate the books are for her (she’s in 2nd grade). When I read this book, I saw it as a read for a 4th/5th grader, or a mature 3rd grader. Am I being overly cautious? What do you guys think?

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/23/15 #imwayr

  1. I love this series are you going to check out the second book?? I definitely think second grade and even third grade is a little to early to be this excited about this series. Don’t worry about being overly cautious because there are times while reading this series I have had to stop and think about what I just read. It can get complicated and to fully understand what is being read takes a mature mind.

    Like

  2. I loved this series! Although, I didn’t read it until I was in junior high. I do think it is possible for a 2nd grader to read it though. It just may be a little more difficult for that age to understand some of the words and Greek Mythology terms.

    Like

  3. I have seen a few people blogging about this series this semester…I had never heard of it before that! But it does sound fantastic, and I have always been enthralled by Greek stories, so I think I am going to have to check this one out! How long of a story is it?

    Like

  4. I discovered Percy a few years ago (as an adult). I LOVE it. I have a BA in Classics and know a lot about mythology – I think Riordan’s mythology is pretty PG and is consistent throughout the series. Read the Percy series, then the Heroes of Olympus (Roman-based).
    I wonder about the 2nd grader……I think it would depend upon the student, the amount of the content she actually understood (the sub-text and the parts that are implied), and the family’s wishes. It seems like an uneasy situation in either case.

    Like

      • That is true. But think about Donalyn Miller – if they enjoy it they will read. I think we should focus on getting them to practice reading.

        Like

Leave a Reply

