6 Things You Need to Know to Succeed in ENG 235, Children’s Literature

As the semester draws to a close, I took some time to reflect on how things went. Ever have that moment where you think, “If only I’d done it that way!”? Haven’t we all. So, in honor of that moment, here are six things you need to know to survive my Children’s Lit class.

1. This class has useful information?? WHAT?? 

As college students, I know sometimes it can be difficult to get through classes that seem like they will never have a practical use in our life. This class is not one of those. Getting the chance to dive right into books and concepts that you will 100% use in the real world is about the best thing a class could give you.

2. Broaden your literature horizons!

There were a handful of times this semester when I picked out books to read that I didn’t think would interest me in the least bit. However, they ended up being way better than I thought! Use this class as an opportunity to read books you wouldn’t normally choose for yourself.

3. Use the blog post scheduler. 

There is this nifty tool on WordPress that let’s you write your blog post, and then schedule when you want it to publish on your blog. That way, if you have a post due Thursday, but you have the time to write it on Monday, you can do just that! Makes life SO MUCH easier.

4. Update Goodreads

I can be bad about keeping a log (or anything for that matter) over the course of an entire semester. Somehow I manged to keep up with logging my books on Goodreads, which I am so thankful for. It made the top ten lists I wrote WAY easier.

5. Put some thought into your book challenge.

It’s very rare in any class to be able to completely design your own project. So, take the reading challenge as the golden opportunity that it is! Create a reading list that really interests you, and that you will have some fun with.

6. Have fun!

Corny? Yes. True? Yes. Really have fun with this class. It can be a really great break from the tedious or challenging assignments we get in other classes. There is nothing better than grabbing a book, putting up your feet, and rediscovering your inner child.

 

8 thoughts on “6 Things You Need to Know to Succeed in ENG 235, Children’s Literature

  1. How wonderful that you did this! I think we can take a lot away from your blog post for our other classes and in life. Keep a schedule, be open minded to broaden your horizons, etc. Good post and good reflection on what you have learned and what you suggest to others!

    Like

    • Love the link! If I had to do one thing differently, I would probably be to read more picture books. Chapter books fit best in my challenge, but I know I missed some really great picture books along the way. If only there were infinite hours to read everything!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I felt like I had a hard time justifying reading picture books. So, I added that to my challenge – 1 picture book, 1 novel and 1 of my books had to be new to me.
        But, I guess that means we all get to ask Santa for LOTS of picture books this year!

        Like

  2. Pingback: Links I Loved Last Week: A Round-Up of Online Reading 12/13/15 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

