It’s Monday! What are you reading? #imwayr 1/16/17

imwayr-2015-logo

Hollow_City_(novel)_cover.jpg

 

Hallow City|By Ransom Riggs

This week I picked up in a trilogy I began last semester. Books of this nature (supernatural/scifi)  are very hit and miss with me, and are not always something I would choose for myself. I purchased the first story in the trilogy, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children out of a desperate need for an audiobook to make my commute to school more tolerable. It was the only audiobook on the shelf, so I didn’t have much choice. Upon listening to it, I became enthralled with the story.

The premise of the book is about peculiars, or children with mysterious powers. There is a girl with immense strength, a boy that can bring dead things back to life, and many other children that have strange abilities. The children are stuck in a time loop where the same day repeats itself–September 3rd, 1943. If a peculiar was to live in the present, they would start to rapidly age and die. While in the time loop, a peculiar can never die. The peculiars live in a boarding house with an assigned caretaker. In the first book, evil forces attempt to kidnap the peculiar’s caretaker, which would cause harm to the time loop. Hallow City deals with the peculiar children attempting to rescue their caretaker.

Now that I’ve given you the most vague book summary in the history of time…(I’m realizing that it is difficult to review a book in the midst of a series that builds heavily on itself without spoiling everything.) Overall, I enjoyed the book. The only complaint I have is that the middle of these books tend to get a little dry. As I neared the end of Hallow City, I debated whether I wanted to go directly into book three of this series, or take a break next week. Then, out of nowhere came a crazy cliffhanger (same sort of thing happened in book one). It gave a renewed sense of life to the story, and made me want to jump straight into book three. I will report back next week with my thoughts on the last of the Miss Peregrine books!

11 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? #imwayr 1/16/17

  1. “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” and “Hollow City” are two of my daughter’s all-time favorite books. I read them as well after she told me about them, and I loved them as well. In general, these types of books aren’t ones that I enjoy, but I did enjoy these ones. Great reads!

    Like

  2. I have been anxious to read this series! I was totally impressed with your review of the novel. It is definitely going on my list. Have you seen the movie? I’ve heard mostly poor reviews of it.

    Like

    • I did recently watch the movie! What I will say, is you have to go into it with an open mind. It is for sure an adaptation of the story, and strays away from the storyline a bit. It was an average movie for me–I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ever since I saw that this was being made into a movie, I wanted to read the books. I really like supernatural books, especially weird and strange ones. From the sounds of it, this would be a perfect one! I’m glad you really liked this one and I hope that the third one is just as good!

    Ali

    Like

  4. I have heard a few things about this series, and it actually came up on several lists when I was searching for YA novels to read. I am normally not interested in this type of book at all, but maybe I should venture outside of my box and give it a try! Thanks for the review!

    Like

  5. This is such a good series. I loved reading all of them last year and really want to read them again. The pictures are so interesting and really add to the stories. You should definitely read the third book in the series.

    Like

    • I absolutely love the pictures! I’ve never seen anything like that before. I think the pictures are such a great addition in a story with so many supernatural pieces that are harder to picture yourself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

