Rounding Up The Week: My Two Cents

4587295636_c1363cf0b4_z.jpg

Now that I’ve had two weeks to get my feet wet and test the waters of YA lit, I thought I would take some time to reflect on my feelings thus far.

What did you learn from the readings this week?|From this week’s readings, I learned about the concept of a golden age of literature. I can agree that we are experiencing a golden age right now. I also learned about the different categories of YA lit in this link. In the past, I’ve just kind of grouped the YA books together as their own category. The link I read did a fantastic job about breaking down these books into more specific categories.

What Questions do you have?|Is there such thing as a YA book with too extreme of a theme? While one student may be mature enough for a book, another student might not be. How do we monitor what students read without crossing the lines of censorship? I’m not for banning books, but I see it as a valid concern with some of the themes YA books present.

What do you want to learn this Semester?| I want to learn how we can motivate students to love reading. I would also like to expand my knowledge of the types of books that are available. The more titles I know about, the more likely I will be able to help a student find their perfect match.

What kind of reading should you do this semester to make sure your knowledge grows?|I hope to greatly vary the types of books I pick out. I’ve spent the first few weeks just reading what truly interests me. However, as the semester goes on, I want to make sure I’m stepping outside of my comfort zone. I’m going to try and utilize the bingo card to help with this. I also want to make sure that I don’t fall victim to reading every book that has been made into a blockbuster movie. Those books are important, and I plan to read them, I just don’t want to spend my entire semester on them like I am currently tempted to do… J

What types of YA do you feel most comfortable with?|I almost feel like it’s easier to say what types of books I’m not comfortable with…I enjoy some fantasy (Harry Potter! J), but not if it goes way over my head. I’m talking sorcerers in the medieval ages, riding dragons, and spewing incantations in other languages. Those books tend to get a little too dark for my comfort level. I also don’t feel very comfortable with mysteries or books focusing on sports. Other than that, I’m game to try about anything! One of the biggest things for me is being able to follow the author’s writing. My favorite books are ones that I can get into from the start and read in an almost rhythmic fashion. There’s nothing worse than reading a book that feels choppy because you aren’t able to jive with the author’s style of writing.

What is my area of YA expertise?|Outside of knowing every single Harry Potter novel from cover to cover, I don’t know if I have an expertise. I feel like I tend to dabble in all genres instead of settling into just one. I will develop a favorite of one area, and then go try something else in another genre. I love Harry Potter just as much as I love TFIOS, just as much as I love The Princess Diaries series. When it comes to YA books, I will give just about anything a shot. Perhaps I have yet to read enough books to develop a genre that I could be an expert in. Maybe by the end of the semester, I will have!

6 thoughts on “Rounding Up The Week: My Two Cents

  1. I love meeting another HP nerd. I’ve read them more time than I can count and love every single word. 🙂 I also wonder about what our role as educators are with regards to books choices of students. I’ve seen teachers help choose the right reading level, but never content. As a parent of a teenage daughter I trust her to make good choices. There’s only been one book she brought home that I asked her not to read, and it was because the main character – a teenage girl and a much older man – fell in love and it was creepy.

    Like

    • I think it is important to monitor student book choice, and perhaps help steer them in the right direction. I remember my 4th grade teacher revealing to me at parent teacher conferences that my AR level was considerably higher than the level range she gave me. She explained that she wanted to make sure I was picking books that were appropriate, but also wanted my parents to know where I really was. Yes, it was slightly deceiving, but I think she did the right thing.

      Like

  2. I like your goals for the semester! I really think it’s a great idea and goal to strive to try different types of YA books. To leave your comfort zone and experiment is such a great opportunity and it opens so many doors to what’s out there. I also think your question was a great question. It’s interesting to see what themes authors come up with these days, but really it’s about getting to know what young adults in this generation and future generations are going to want to know or need to understand. Each kid’s different.

    Like

  3. I have similar struggles with reading diversely. I don’t always want to stretch out of my comfort zone, so I’ve done it little by slow. Instead of going into full-fledged fantasy, I’ve tried fantastical realism. It’s really helped me gain an interest. Good luck reading! I can’t wait to find out what you try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

