It’s Monday! What are you reading? #IMWAYR 1/23/16

imwayr-2015-logo

So this week, I hoped to bring you a review of Library of Souls, the third book in the Miss Peregrine series. Unfortunately, the library and bookstore I went to didn’t have it.:( Halfway through the week, I managed to get a copy of it. By then, I had already started another book. I tried to then read two books at once, but that didn’t work out too well for me. So, I will continue on with Library of Souls this week, and wrap it up next Monday.

For now, I will share with you what caught my eye last week.

This.

28450966

The question on the cover immediately grabbed my attention. I love Disney, and Beauty and the Beast is my favorite Disney story ever. As excited as I was, I was also a little hesitant…the Disney logo stamped at the top could mean a few things. They do retain the rights to keep as much original material in as wanted. However, it could also be a money grab attempt. I approached with caution.

All in all, it wasn’t a bad book. That being said, it also didn’t quite live up to what I had hoped. There was quite a bit of flashback until the story reached a certain point. The author handled this pretty well, by having it alternate with each chapter. That made it a lot easier to keep up with. There is a pretty extensive backstory about Maurice, Belle’s dad, and Rosalind, Belle’s mom. In a turn of events, the Beast no longer has the luxury of waiting until the last rose petal drops to reverse the curse. The last petal falls, and it’s up to Belle and the Beast to try and reverse the curse.

The story was difficult to get into at first, and then delivered a sucker punch unexpected ending. Seems to be a common theme in the books I’ve been choosing….It’s not a bad thing, but I would appreciate a book that hooked me from the beginning.

As an avid Disney fan, there were a few touches that I could appreciate. Many of the chapter names had references to song lines like ‘And Her Nose Stuck in a Book’, ‘Ask the Dishes’, and ‘She Didn’t See it There Before’. An interesting twist: Gaston was not the most hated person in the story. That was a change for sure! I also liked how the author really played up the feminist side of Belle. Below was my absolute favorite part.

“The Beast opened and closed his mouth a few times, obviously stunned into speechlessness by the strangeness of the suggestion.

“I don’t know how to make dinner,” he finally admitted.

“I will help you. We’ll do it together,” Belle said, going over to the washbasin.

“Cooking. Reading. Is there anything you can’t do?”

Belle grabbed his big paw and shoved it into the water as well. “Oh yes, I’m a veritable domestic demigoddess,” she said archly. “You should see me turn invisible and walk on water. Come on, let’s get you an apron.” 

In short, there were parts I appreciated, an parts that I thought could have been better. If you like Disney, I’d say they are worth a shot. For anyone that might be interested, the author does have two other twisted fairytales!


148470732x-151yyspn2b1wl

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? #IMWAYR 1/23/16

  1. I completely understand how hard it is to have more than one book on the go at a time. I can do one audiobook and one book I read with my eyes, but even though I theoretically have one nonfiction book on the go as well, it tends to be forgotten.

    Like

Leave a Reply

