It’s Monday! What are you reading? #imwayr 3/13/17

After a week off for spring break, it’s time to get right back at it. I am going to share the title I read prior to spring break, and give you a peek into what my week is going to look like.

wonder_cover_artWonder| RJ Palacio I picked this book to fill my middle grades novel bingo square. I cannot say enough good things about it! As an elementary education major that wants to teach 4th/5th graders, I can see this book fitting perfectly in my future classroom. It is about a boy named August, who has facial deformities. August is a clever kid with a sense of humor, and just wants to be a ‘normal’ kid. He has been homeschooled his whole life, until his parents decide to enroll him in middle school. The book follows his story as August makes the transition. It is told from multiple perspectives, which I found very interesting. You get insight from August’s sister, friend, and even someone that bullies him. It makes you stop and think about how there are so many sides to every story. This would make a perfect beginning of the year read aloud. So many great conversations could be had about how to treat people. These characters are all so lovable, that I could see an entire class latching onto them and bonding over the book. Five stars for sure!!

Up Next…

This week I am starting Paper Towns as my next book club selection with my sister. She hasn’t read any John Green books before, and this is a new title for me! Excited to read it. I am also going to tackle All the Bright Places. From the sounds of it, it’s going to be an emotionally heavy read. Pair that with the gut wrenches John Green likes to throw in, and I’ll be lucky to make it through the week without breaking down at least once…Wish me luck!


I’m also trying to plan my next few weeks out…and branch out a bit. Any suggestions for award winners or perhaps books about sports or adventure? Let me know below. Happy reading everyone!

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? #imwayr 3/13/17

  1. Since you enjoyed Wonder, what about a couple of Schneider Award winners that could be used in your elementary classroom? Brian Selznick’s Wonderstruck is terrific, and I also love Lynda Mulally Hunt’s Fish in a Tree. For sports, a couple of girl sports books I really like are Wendelin Van Draaien’s The Running Dream (also a Schneider!) and Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s Dairy Queen. For boy sports, Jason Reynolds’s Ghost is one of my current faves (and might be ok for advanced elementary readers) and you’ve got to read Kwame Alexander if you haven’t already: I like Booked best, but The Crossover is also wonderful and won the Newbery (plus it’s a verse novel!)

    Like

    • Thank you for all of the suggestions! I will look into more Schneider Award books–would really like to expand into that genre and see exactly how many and what types of books feature characters with disabilities.

      Like

  2. “Wonder” sounds fantastic; I actually just picked it up at the bookstore but forced myself to put it back because my TBR pile is getting totally out of control.

    I can’t wait to hear what you think about “All the Bright Places!” I loved it. It brought every emotion out for me, including laughter and tears. Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

