Reading peace found! Ship is no longer sinking. #imwayr 4/3/17

After a rough time reading last week, I found peace with my books and the issues they raised! To recap, last week I struggled through half of Maze Runner, not sure if I wanted to continue with it this week. I think there is nothing wrong with someone not finishing a book. However, in this instance, I REALLY didn’t want to stop the book. So, this week, I first took a short break from it.

51xhir9zkhl-_sx342_bo1204203200_DRAMA By Raina Telgemier| Quite the shift from my last book! I’ve never been able to get into graphic novels before, because most of my experiences were with Manga (which I have nothing wrong with, just not for me!). This graphic novel follows a middle school girl, Callie. We watch as she takes on a role building sets for the school play, and navigates the world of boys. I know this book has raised concern before–I’ve got to say, I didn’t find anything wrong with it. It’s filled with drama, don’t get me wrong! I feel like author does a great job at writing something that a student would find scandalous, without it actually being inappropriate. It’s all very lighthearted. Plus, I think it’s a good introductory to graphic novels. In general, it’s just a fun read!

the_maze_runner_coverThe Maze Runner By James Dashner| I didn’t forget about you! So, I did decide to finish the story. I listened to it as an audiobook to see if that made a difference. I also decided I wasn’t going to force myself to finish it all this week (It’s a 5 hour listen!). I enjoyed listening to it as an audiobook! The longer descriptions that I wasn’t fond of were a lot easier to focus on when I listened to them. I’m glad I gave it a chance, because the story takes an exciting twist! I think it’s like any sort of fantasy book–the first few chapters are filled with new vocabulary. If you get it, you are set to enjoy the book. If you don’t, then you lose interest pretty quickly. I’ve got about an hour and a half left, so I will bring you a full conclusion next week!

c40ea803c3f7376dfa8a33774bc15f98Paper Towns John Green| Read another chunk in this book! It’s going a little slower because the other members in my book club have some conflicts and busier schedules. Let me tell you, it is torture to have to read this book so slowly! It takes everything in me to not read ahead. I have to say…is it just me, or does this book have some parallels to Looking For Alaska? Alaska and Margo (as well as their current predicaments in the story) seem a lot alike. It makes me wonder if they will have similar outcomes, or if John Green is going to do something totally different, but equally heart-wrenching! Alas, I’ll have to hold off a little bit longer…

7 thoughts on “Reading peace found! Ship is no longer sinking. #imwayr 4/3/17

  1. I read Drama earlier this year, and I found it to be appropriate for many students. My only concern with it was that due to its AR level, it was my third graders checking it out. I feel as though students get caught up with drama soon enough in life, and I question whether or not they are ready for middle school drama in the third grade. Just a thought…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I see both sides for sure. Being honest, I feel so wishy washy when it comes to censorship, that I made myself pick a side, and that was the side I was leaning closer to. I feel like as an elementary major, censorship is a little different at the elementary level. As someone that works with elementary students, do you feel this is the case? I’m open minded when it comes to censorship in YA books. However, when it comes to younger audiences, I feel like I naturally try and censor things without even realizing it, which ends up making me feel like a hypocrite.

      Like

      • I truly feel that at the elementary level we become pseudo parents. And it’s tough for me because my educational background as a librarian tells me I shouldn’t censor. But my mom side always errs on the side of caution with our little ones. Many times parents never see the books that our students check out, and it’s part of my job to make sure they are age appropriate.

        Like

  2. I’m so glad you ended up finishing The Maze Runner! I loved that book and the movie! You should definitely go watch the movie now, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. Your experience with The Maze Runner served as a kind of teachable moment for me. There are going to be students in the classroom that just can’t or read a book. I think a totally doable alternative would be to have them do exactly what you did: listen to an audio book. This way, they are still getting the benefit of a story being told, which in turn, broadens their vocabulary and adheres to their learning style!

    Like

  3. I’m glad you’re starting to like Maze Runner so much. It’s interesting that it was easier for you to get into it once you started listening instead of reading. That’s a great tip. Thanks!

    Like

    • You’re welcome! I don’t know if there is any merit to it, but it worked for me, so I guess that’s all that matters….that’s teaching for you–no option is off the table, because from student to student, it’s hard to say what will make it all click for them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

