Digitally Differentiating

This week I learned about two really neat things: comic strip and infographic website creation tools. As a visual learner and differentiated instruction supporter, I loved what each website had to offer! Here’s a quick recap of the sites I visited:

Comic Tools

Comic Book!: an app that lets you create your own digital comic strips. This would be a fun way for a student to bring life to an old piece of writing, or develop a new story!

ToonDoo: another comic builder with desktop access. From what I can tell from this one, you get to build the comic from the ground up, and really customize it!

Bitmoji: this can be accessed on the desktop or a mobile device. You can create your own avatar, and embed it into various things. I’m not quite sure how I could incorporate it into the classroom, but think that students would find this software very fun!

Infographic Tools

Piktochart: An online tool that allows you to create just about any infographic that you could imagine. You do have the option to start from a template, which can be handy. I didn’t explore the full extent of the site, because I didn’t want to make an account. It does seem very similar to Canva, the tool I utilized the most this week.

Canva: This is the tool that I tried out this week! It is a website that allows you to create custom infographics, or start with a template. You can make all sorts of sizes–posters, blog graphics, even banner/cover photos. Overall, I enjoyed using it. I started with a template, and worked from there. The one negative I will say, is that some of the templates and graphics do cost money. If I was to use this in my classroom, my students would be subjected to what was free. It’s not a deal breaker–you can still make some cool stuff. Just something to note.

The infographic I made was about how to read a ukulele tab (something similar to sheet music, but exclusive to the ukulele).

Uke Infographic

One thing I learned, is that there is a skill to making these look good. They are hard work! Infographics are challenging because you have to condense your message to as few words as possible–something that is difficult for me to do. I think it’s a good exercise to teach though! You could also talk about elements of design, and what makes an image visually appealing.

Personally, I think infographics are a great thing. I can become easily bogged down when a large block of text is put in front of me, and lose all interest in what it has to say. Infographics can be used to convey the same information, in an easier to process format! While that may be true for me, I know this isn’t the way everyone probably prefers to take in information. Because of that, I could see myself making this an option as an assignment–perhaps an alternative to a paper. Infographics would also be a great tool to incorporate when I am up front teaching. I’m all for reaching as many students as possible, and I think these visual digital tools are great for doing just that.

2 thoughts on “Digitally Differentiating

  1. I agree. They are not easy to make but once they are done, they can be really useful teaching tools. I like how you talked about how you would incorporate all the different comic tools and infographic tools into the classroom. Good post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

