Wrapping up the Semester

As the semester draws to a close, I’m taking a minute to do something I rarely do—pause and reflect. During finals, it’s so easy to get caught up in the chaos, and let anything not necessary to passing a test fall to the wayside…however, as this is the last semester before I student teach, I’m trying to approach things with a little different perspective. In a few short months, I’m no longer going to be focused on passing tests, but trying to apply everything I’ve spent the last four years learning in the real world.

When I am teaching, I want to be an innovator. What does this look like to me? It’s being reflective. It’s putting your students first in every professional decision you make. It’s asking questions when you aren’t satisfied with the way things are. It’ knowing your strengths and weaknesses, and using both to your advantage. I also want to teach my students to be innovators. I want them to question things and build on their learning. Thinking realistically, I know it will be hard to be an innovator in education. However, instead of complaining about the negatives, I will focus on what I can do to make positive change. Just like George Courous says in an article on innovation:

“I recognize that there are obstacles in education, but as an innovator, I will focus on what is possible today and where I can push to lead towards tomorrow.”

When I am teaching, I want to continue to integrate technology into the classroom. I embrace all things technology. I think that as our world becomes more and more digital, it is up to us as teachers to guide our students into how to navigate it all. On that note, I also understand the value in being mindful around technology, and plan to teach that too. I want students to leave my classroom with the skills and confidence to use technology successfully and appropriately.

When I am teaching, I want to continue to learn. Or, put in the words of Will Richardson, I want to continue to unlearn. While this class may be over, and my college experience nearing its end, that doesn’t mean I’m going to stop learning. I will learn and unlearn from my students, my colleagues, and every experience I am presented with. An I urge you to do the same.

“We need to unlearn the idea that learning itself is an event. In this day and age, it is a continual process.” -Richardson

2 thoughts on “Wrapping up the Semester

  1. I did the same thing this week. Even though I wasn’t the happiest with every class, I reflected on how much work I was able to get done and I am proud of it! I believe it’s true that shortly, our lives will not be dominated by school, and we will have a lot more on our plates as teachers. Good luck with student teaching!

    Like

Leave a Reply

