Harry Potter Moment of the Week 9/24/15

HPMOTW (2)

Brought to us by Leah at Uncorked Thoughts, this week’s HP MOTW: Which books would you recommend to Harry?

This is an interesting question, because you need to develop your own context, as it could be interpreted a few different ways. At first, I wasn’t sure if they meant the Harry Potter series, or just any books. I decided to think about other stories Harry might enjoy. My initial thought is that Harry would probably classify himself as a “non-reader”. It’s not that he wouldn’t enjoy a book, homeboy’s just got better things to do like playing Quiddich and slaying the Dark Lord!

dark lord

http://www.onceuponatee.net/shop/wizard-battle

Now for the genre…I’m thinking he would probably be a sci-fi/fantasy guy. (Side note: would sci-fi books just be considered plain old stories in the Wizarding World?) Unfortunately, my knowledge of sci-fi and fantasy is pretty much contained within the Wizarding World. (I should fix that!) So, with some help from my sci-fi/fantasy enthusiast boyfriend we came up with two series: the Eragon series and the Percy Jackson series.  While I don’t know a ton about either of these series, I do know that they are extremely popular books. Plus one is about Dragons! That seems right up Harry’s alley. My recommendation would come at about his second or third year, because that’s when I’d think he’d find these books most interesting.

What do you guys think? I’m interested to see everyone’s ideas!

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week 9/24/15

  1. I’m with you, this is a topic that could go a couple of different ways! I actually decided to write mine based on the wizarding world (my post isn’t scheduled to post until about 3am tonight, but you should be able to read it tomorrow 🙂 ). I thought Harry really needs to read “Hogwarts, A History.” But, I enjoyed reading about your ideas! I think that they would be a great fit for Harry :).

    Like

Leave a comment